In a gap-toothed state

IMG_20160125_162953

I was running late yesterday when I passed this quote scribbled on a wall near the Sorbonne. Running late is not a new habit of mine. Stopping to take more time to appreciate small, beautiful things (thus, I realize, making me even later than usual) is a practice I’m cultivating these days.

The quote turns out not to be from Swiss-German modernist author Robert Walser’s published writing but from a letter he wrote to his sister Frieda Mermet, on February 15, 1921. Here’s my translation from the original letter in French, which appears below this post:

Last Sunday, I took a lovely walk in Laupen, and generally speaking I’m already quite familiar with Bern and its charming surroundings. One who works doesn’t exactly experience too much. If you’re interested, I can tell you that not long ago I lost, like a little child, a beautiful incisor in perfect condition. I deplore the loss, of course, and it is in a gap-toothed state that I must henceforth make my way in this world so beautiful. Another person might interpret it as tragedy.”

Read more about Walser’s “pencil method” in this piece by Susan Bernofsky, who has translated six of his books and recently published this biography.

CB

version francaise:

J’étais en retard hier, lorsque j’ai vu cette citation inscrite sur un mur près de la Sorbonne.
Être en retard n’est pas une de mes nouvelles habitudes; ce serait plutôt de prendre le temps d’apprecier les belles petites choses (qui, je sais, me rendra encore plus en retard).

La citation ne vient pas d’un texte publié par écrivain suisse-allemand post-moderne Robert Walser, mais d’une lettre envoyée à sa sœur Frieda Mermet le 15 février 1921.

« Dimanche dernier, j’ai fait une ravissante promenade à Laupen, et de manière générale, j’ai déjà fait assez bonne connaissance avec les charmants environs de Berne. Je n’ai pas grand-chose à vous raconter. Qui travaille ne vit pas grand-chose, justement. Si cela vous intéresse, je peux vous annoncer qu’il y a peu, j’ai perdu, tel un petit enfant, une belle incisive en parfait état. Je le déplore, bien sûr, et c’est en brèche-dent que je dois désormais aller mon chemin dans ce monde si beau. Un autre que moi le prendrait peut-être au tragique. »

Apprenez-en davantage sur les microgrammes de Walser dans cet article de Susan Bernofsky, sa biographe et traductrice en anglais de six de ses livres.

 

Leave a comment